Categories
Uncategorized

Mental Health Research News

July 22, 2020 — Adults aged 60 and up have fared better emotionally compared to younger adults (18-39) and middle-aged adults (40-59) amid the COVID-19 pandemic, according to new …July 20, 2020 — Researchers have now demonstrated that behavior therapy that exposes people to memories of their trauma doesn’t cause relapses of opioid or other…

July 22, 2020 — Adults aged 60 and up have fared better emotionally compared to younger adults (18-39) and middle-aged adults (40-59) amid the COVID-19 pandemic, according to new …

July 20, 2020 — Researchers have now demonstrated that behavior therapy that exposes people to memories of their trauma doesn’t cause relapses of opioid or other drug use, and that PTSD severity and emotional …

June 25, 2020 — Researchers found an unexpected spectrum of mental illnesses in patients with a rare gene mutation. These patients had a ”double hit” condition that combined features and …

June 23, 2020 — About three-quarters of US workers, or 108 million people, are in jobs that cannot be done from home during a pandemic, putting these workers at increased risk of exposure to disease. This majority …

June 15, 2020 — A new treatment for stress which combines mindfulness and hypnotherapy has shown positive …

June 15, 2020 — A new study attempts to shed light on triggers of post-trauma nightmare occurrences — a topic that has received scant …

June 11, 2020 — A new study shows that patient-derived adult stem cells can be used to model major depressive disorder and test how a patient may respond to medication and that fish oil, when tested in the model, …

June 7, 2020 — Persistently engaging in negative thinking patterns may raise the risk of Alzheimer’s disease, finds a new UCL-led study published in Alzheimer’s & …

June 4, 2020 — Chronic stress is associated with the pathogenesis of psychological disorders such as depression. A study is the first to identify the role of a neuronal receptor that straddles the intersection …

June 3, 2020 — A new survey conducted during the COVID-19 pandemic found a more-than-threefold increase in the percentage of US adults who reported symptoms of psychological distress — from 3.9 percent in 2018 to …

June 3, 2020 — A wearable biosensor may help monitor stress experienced by healthcare professionals, according to a new …

June 3, 2020 — A review of 56 randomized clinical trials finds that psychological and behavioral therapies may be effective non-drug treatments for reducing disease-causing inflammation in the …

June 2, 2020 — A new study suggest that whether certain genes are expressed may play a role in susceptibility to post-traumatic stress disorder …

June 1, 2020 — Almost overnight, the rapid emergence of the COVID-19 pandemic in the United States and subsequent state and federal prevention measures dramatically altered daily behavior. A new study provides the …

June 1, 2020 — Pregnant women who take extra choline supplements may mitigate the negative impact that viral respiratory infections, including COVID-19, can have on their babies, according to a new study in the …

May 31, 2020 — The anaesthetic drug ketamine has been shown, in low doses, to have a rapid effect on difficult-to-treat depression. Researchers now report that they have identified a key target for the drug: …

May 31, 2020 — A rapid review into the mental health impacts of loneliness on children and young people concludes that there could be a spike in demand for mental health services in the years to …

May 27, 2020 — People who believe more strongly that depression is biologically caused also tend to think it is more severe and long lasting, compared to those who see less of a role for biological causes, a new …

May 26, 2020 — Depression, anxiety and PTSD might not be disorders at all, according to biological anthropologists. In the paper, the researchers propose a new approach to mental illness that would be informed by …

May 21, 2020 — Nearly half of parents of children under age 18 say their stress levels related to the coronavirus pandemic are high, with managing their kids’ online learning a significant source of stress for …

Wednesday, July 22, 2020

Monday, July 20, 2020

Thursday, June 25, 2020

Tuesday, June 23, 2020

Monday, June 15, 2020

Thursday, June 11, 2020

Sunday, June 7, 2020

Thursday, June 4, 2020

Wednesday, June 3, 2020

Tuesday, June 2, 2020

Monday, June 1, 2020

Sunday, May 31, 2020

Wednesday, May 27, 2020

Tuesday, May 26, 2020

Thursday, May 21, 2020

Wednesday, May 20, 2020

Tuesday, May 19, 2020

Monday, May 18, 2020

Tuesday, May 12, 2020

Thursday, May 7, 2020

Monday, May 4, 2020

Sunday, May 3, 2020

Wednesday, April 29, 2020

Tuesday, April 28, 2020

Wednesday, April 22, 2020

Tuesday, April 21, 2020

Monday, April 20, 2020

Friday, April 17, 2020

Thursday, April 16, 2020

Wednesday, April 8, 2020

Tuesday, April 7, 2020

Monday, March 30, 2020

Wednesday, March 25, 2020

Monday, March 23, 2020

Wednesday, March 18, 2020

Monday, March 16, 2020

Wednesday, March 11, 2020

Monday, March 9, 2020

Monday, March 2, 2020

Wednesday, February 26, 2020

Tuesday, February 25, 2020

Monday, February 24, 2020

Tuesday, February 18, 2020

Tuesday, February 11, 2020

Monday, February 10, 2020

Thursday, February 6, 2020

Tuesday, February 4, 2020

Monday, February 3, 2020

Wednesday, January 29, 2020

Tuesday, January 28, 2020

Monday, January 27, 2020

Thursday, January 23, 2020

Wednesday, January 22, 2020

Tuesday, January 21, 2020

Friday, January 17, 2020

Thursday, January 16, 2020

Tuesday, January 14, 2020

Monday, January 13, 2020

Tuesday, January 7, 2020

Monday, January 6, 2020

Wednesday, December 18, 2019

Monday, December 16, 2019

Thursday, December 12, 2019

Wednesday, December 11, 2019

Monday, December 9, 2019

Thursday, December 5, 2019

Wednesday, December 4, 2019

Tuesday, December 3, 2019

Source